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07/26/2021 - Best Mortgage Rates from Big & Reputable Lenders and SD Reviews (30year @ 2.75%, 15year @ 2.25% etc)

5,049 1,724 July 4, 2020 at 01:27 PM in Free Shipping (6)
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Last Edited by shahhere July 26, 2021 at 06:35 AM
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Details on how to understand the Mortgage basics and information that I understand for your learning can be accessed on this post (Click this hyperlink to go to the post); If you are new to this process and have questions this is a Must Read before asking question on the forum!


Reviving my over a decade old thread from SD and FW as the rates have gotten competitive. This thread is a SD community thread to compare and post best rates received along with their lender experience for a quick compare and estimation from a starting point.


Please note that rates will vary on quite a few factors and just because one person has a rate will not guarantee you will receive the same rate but simply use this as a guide and negotiation tactic.

All below rates are based on assumptions of certain LTV, DTI, & Excellent Credit Scores:

30 Year Fixed best rates (Assuming Good Credit & 20% down, low LTV, low DTI, etc etc):
All listed lenders are here because I shopped them and have encountered competitive pricing and not because I get any sort of a kickback....use this as a gauge for the latest but note that things can change week to week, day to day and even hour to hour:

07/14/2021 2.875% Better.com- Will consider Lender Match to beat Competitors and combine with Amex cashback (Click here for additional Forum thread details). Amex's "Digital Assist" Team @ 800-297-7500

07/14/2021 2.875% LoanDepot.com - Is competitive but works better if you have another offer for them. My LO Luke Dean
[email protected] 949-652-4521

07/14/2021 BSMFunding (David Pressel) - Call to get the latest rates (no published online). Very competitive rates; get everything in writing via email!
https://bsmfunding.mymortgage-onl...essel.html
David Pressel (NMLS: 562175)- Branch Manager - Phone: 908-208-2036
[email protected]
07/14/2021 2.5% LoanCabin [loancabin.com] - Most Competitive but refinance times have grow to almost 6 months for many people so proceed with caution as recent reviews indicate normal 1 month closing. Generally do not charge for big Lender Fees (A+B on LE) as they are under $100 in most cases; esp if appraisal is waived for your scenario.

07/14/2021 3% LenderFi - Competitive but might be slow and not work on beating other lender rates.
30 Year Fixed Jumbo Best Rates (Assuming Good Credit & 20% down):
TBD
15 year Fixed:
07/14/2021 2.0 % Better.com; matches Bankrate rates for themselves.
07/04/2020 2.5% NIH Credit Union with Lender Credit
Title Company Comparisions:
RadianTitleDirect.com - OP has used them for almost a decade with getting best rates (closed after Covid, Lender must submit order as consumer side is closed).
ALTTitle.com
https://www.valerotitle.com/ - Texas only.
Alphabetical list of other lenders (some could be non-proven without direct member experiences posted here):
  1. AimLoan - Will provide LE without hard pull if credit is frozen https://www.aimloan.com/
  2. Amerisave - will give you scores from all 3 bureaus with just a soft pull https://www.amerisave.com/
  3. Better.com https://better.com/
  4. BoxHomeLoans https://www.boxhomeloans.com/
  5. Close Your Own Loan https://www.closeyourownloan.com/...sults.aspx
  6. Colonial Mort http://www.colonialmort.com/
  7. HighTechLending http://www.hightechlending.co/Default.aspx
  8. Interactive Mortgage https://interactivemortgage.com/ Eric from IM is super rude so good luck dealing with this guy!
  9. LenderFi https://www.lenderfi.com [lenderfi.com]if the link wont work try this backend link: https://app.lenderfi.com/app/sign...r/lenderfi
  10. Loan Cabin https://www.loancabin.com/
  11. Loan Depot https://www.loandepot.com/
  12. LoanLock https://www.loanlock.com/
  13. NavyFederal CU https://www.navyfederal.org/
  14. NIH credit union (Delware, District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia) https://www.nihfcu.org/
  15. Northpointe Bank https://www.northpointe.com/
  16. Owning.com (Operates only in CA) https://owning.com/
  17. Pentagon Federal CU https://www.penfed.org/
  18. Provident Funding - will give LE without locking rate https://www.provident.com/
  19. RatePlus (California) https://www.rateplus.com/
  20. Travis Credit Union (12 North Cal Counties only) https://www.traviscu.org/ Eligibility traviscu.org
  21. United wholesale mortgages https://www.uwm.com/
  22. Watermark Home Loans https://www.watermarkhomeloans.com/
  23. West Coast Mortgage Associates (The loan broker is in So.Cal. Debbie Morgan) https://wcmtg.com/


Shahhere

Old Thread - https://slickdeals.net/e/1223863-03-06-2009-best-mortgage-rates-from-big-reputable-lenders-30year-5-15year-5-arm-s-etc

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Quote from MeAPhool :
I think a lot of people get confused with regards to "no closing cost". Specifically I think that is with regards to A+B+C (as referenced in this post by volcomssj48 - https://slickdeals.net/forums/showpost.php?p=138543920&postcount=138)

As per volcomssj48, this is a good place to go for a basic understanding of the LE (Loan Estimate) that should be provided to you by each lender once you give all of your information: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/o...-estimate/

I'm in NJ so I can't really shop Title Insurance much as it's the cost is regulated by the state, however in other states, you can really cut down some of the costs in section "C".
Good site for daily mortgage news. Subscribe to their daily mortgage rate news to learn about their predictions. Also take a look at the rest of their site.
http://www.mortgagenewsdaily.com/...age_rates/



Potential Lenders - Mentioned in Thread
*Please add to this list and add locality if applicable*

  1. Loan Cabin https://www.loancabin.com/
  2. Better.com https://better.com/
  3. Interactive Mortgage https://interactivemortgage.com/
  4. LenderFi https://www.lenderfi.com/
  5. owning.com (Operates only in CA) https://owning.com/
  6. NIH credit union (Delware, District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia) https://www.nihfcu.org/
  7. Loan Depot https://www.loandepot.com/
  8. Travis Credit Union (12 North Cal Counties only) https://www.traviscu.org/ Eligibility [traviscu.org]
  9. Pentagon Federal CU https://www.penfed.org/
  10. Interactive Mortgage https://interactivemortgage.com/
  11. NavyFederal CU https://www.navyfederal.org/
  12. United wholesale mortgages https://www.uwm.com/
  13. BoxHomeLoans https://www.boxhomeloans.com/
  14. LoanLock https://www.loanlock.com/
  15. West Coast Mortgage Associates (The loan broker is in So.Cal. Debbie Morgan) https://wcmtg.com/
  16. RatePlus (California) https://www.rateplus.com/
  17. Northpointe Bank https://www.northpointe.com/
  18. HighTechLending https://hightechlending.mortgagewebcenter.com/
  19. Close Your Own Loan https://www.closeyourownloan.com/...sults.aspx
  20. AimLoan - will give LE without hard pull if credit is frozen https://www.aimloan.com/
  21. Amerisave - will give you scores from all 3 bureaus with just a soft pull
    https://www.amerisave.com/
  22. Provident - will give LE without locking rate https://www.provident.com/ Best Credit Back with 60% LTV or better.
  23. Watermark Home Loans https://www.watermarkhomeloans.com/ Skip these guys. They are being rude to Slickdealers. In one occasion they have explicitly said they don't want to do business with people from Slickdeals. They also have an approach where they give you the best rate initially and just raise it more each time you ask.
  24. Colonial Mort http://www.colonialmort.com/
  25. Annie Mac https://www.annie-mac.com/ Licensed in these states https://www.annie-mac.com/page/licensed-states/
  26. Rate Rabbit https://www.raterabbit.com/ Licensed in MA and others [raterabbit.com]

Discount lenders who DO NOT accept fully documented in tax returns self-employment income:
Owning.com
BoxHomeLoans
Lower.com

Discount Lenders that DO accept fully documented in tax returns self-employment income:
Sebonic
Caliber
Sage

Title Company Shopping
AltTitle.com
mytitlegenius.com (formerly entitle direct)
TO AVOID - Settlement LTD (local Pittsburgh run away from them - high cost, very bad service, lot of delays)


Feel Free to Add Sections for Each Lender - MeAPhool

Loan Cabin - DetailsWARNING. DO NOT GO WITH LOAN CABIN. TRUST ME.
I would have lost the home if i was trying to buy a house.
I just had a normal refi and it took then 127 days to close. out of the 27 emails i sent, they responded to 3. I even had to call (complain) their main office 2 times to get a response to any emails. they screwed the closing paperwork as well.


Loan Cabin does not charge lender fees. Actually all of this is in their FAQ but of course nobody reads anything and wants everything spoon fed.

This means A+B (reference the link above in the wiki regarding Loan Estimate) in the Loan Estimate should be 0 (as long as your appraisal is waived).

You will be responsible for Title Cost (of course you can shop that to your heart's delight)
You will be responsible for Recording Fee in your county
You will be responsible for Escrows (if you so choose OR if you are close to Homeowner's OR Property Tax payment - though you can negotiate and show evidence to get it waived. Most lender's will waive it if you are choosing not to escrow and you can show proof that you paid the upcoming Property Tax or Homeowner's Insurance)

You will be responsible for Prepaid Interest (this isn't a cost. If you didn't refinance, you'd be paying the interest at your current mortgage rate which I assume would be higher).

Lender Credit - If this covers A+B+C+E then you have a no-cost refinance. If you have a surplus aside from A+B+C+E, then technically you made money on your refinance.


If you apply and do no hear back for 3 days, then on the 3rd business day, reach out to [email protected]. They will usually help get a response on your application within a day.



If the information in this WIKI does not cover your questions, then please ask. We will answer and update WIKI accordingly.

Thanks - MeAPhool

Quote from arouncoumar :
For those needing clarity on LC closing costs, I was on the same boat. See what they charge here https://www.dropbox.com/s/r30ecea...t.png?dl=0
Quote from PeterLegend :
Here is a photo of my loan estimate from Loan Cabin, my lender credits should be closer to 3K based on my initial conversations with Bob so i'm following up with him on that.

I do see title insurance in my estimate. I reached out to Owning but I didn't quality for the no cost refinance option since my LTV was 73%, it has to be 50% or lower when I spoke to them.

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Joined Sep 2011
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> bubble2 409 Posts
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zukuri
08-27-2020 at 12:58 PM.
08-27-2020 at 12:58 PM.
Quote from shahhere :
Dude just send him your sample skin, a drop of your blood and your first born; what else is needed its that simple!


LOL, what does he want as far as commitment goes? You are going to PM it somewhere right?


Shahhere
Yes I was trying to pricematch with loandepot for they asked for LE from the competitors.
100% commitment might mean don't look elsewhere other than him.
for he always sends this message in his email.
"If you recently locked with another lender or are planning on locking into a loan, our pricing IS LOWER 99 percent of the time. 5 minutes with me will most likely save you $$$$'s. I know everyone says that but call me today or complete the application below to see your options."
Reply
Joined Nov 2004
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MeAPhool
08-27-2020 at 12:59 PM.
08-27-2020 at 12:59 PM.
Quote from user017 :
Currently locked with LD at 2.262%. With credits and costs I get back $800.

LC is offering 2.62% at 0 closing cost with $2500 credit. And 2.5% at $500 costs. Obviously LC is better, but not sure which to choose between 2.62% and 2.5%.
What I highlighted is obviously a typo, but that would be awesome!!

What is your loan amount?

You want to look at how long (# of months) it will take you to recover the $2000 loss in credit. That can be done by calculating the difference in monthly P+I and the additional equity gained over time with the lower interest rate.

Use an amortization calculator like the one bankrate provides.
Hypothetically, let's say your loan amount was $250,000.

Original Loan Amount $250,000
P&I @ 2.5% $987.80
P&I @ 2.625% $1,004.13
Difference in P&I $16.33/month
Breakeven Ignoring Equity $2,000/$16.33 = 123 months or 10+years
Breakeven including Equity About 7 years

To account for Equity gain, you have to run the amortization charts and calculate the difference in P+I in addition to the increase in equity at 2.5%.

Taking into account Equity gain, you break even in < 7 years.
At the end of 7 years, @ 2.5%, your principal balance would be $207,181.70
At the end of 7 years, @ 2.625%, your principal balance would be $207,886.01.
You would have $704.31 more in equity plus your 7 years worth of savings in P+I.
In 7 years, you would save $16.33*84month = $1,371.72.

So including equity, you would save $2,076.03 over 7 years if you chose 2.5% vs 2.625%.


In my opinion 7 years ( using equity in break-even calculation) is a long time.
I would probably go with 2.625% but everyone has their own priority and mindset.
If you never want to refi again and know you will be in the home forever go with 2.5%.

If you even have an inkling or thought of moving or refinancing again, go with 2.625%.
Reply
Joined Jan 2013
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> bubble2 701 Posts
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user017
08-27-2020 at 01:19 PM.
08-27-2020 at 01:19 PM.
Quote from SplendidCircle329 :
If time to close matters to you, LC will take over 2 months to close
Quote from MeAPhool :
What I highlighted is obviously a typo, but that would be awesome!!

What is your loan amount?

You want to look at how long (# of months) it will take you to recover the $2000 loss in credit. That can be done by calculating the difference in monthly P+I and the additional equity gained over time with the lower interest rate.

Use an amortization calculator like the one bankrate provides.
Hypothetically, let's say your loan amount was $250,000.

Original Loan Amount $250,000
P&I @ 2.5% $987.80
P&I @ 2.625% $1,004.13
Difference in P&I $16.33/month
Breakeven Ignoring Equity $2,000/$16.33 = 123 months or 10+years
Breakeven including Equity About 7 years

To account for Equity gain, you have to run the amortization charts and calculate the difference in P+I in addition to the increase in equity at 2.5%.

Taking into account Equity gain, you break even in < 7 years.
At the end of 7 years, @ 2.5%, your principal balance would be $207,181.70
At the end of 7 years, @ 2.625%, your principal balance would be $207,886.01.
You would have $704.31 more in equity plus your 7 years worth of savings in P+I.
In 7 years, you would save $16.33*84month = $1,371.72.

So including equity, you would save $2,076.03 over 7 years if you chose 2.5% vs 2.625%.


In my opinion 7 years ( using equity in break-even calculation) is a long time.
I would probably go with 2.625% but everyone has their own priority and mindset.
If you never want to refi again and know you will be in the home forever go with 2.5%.

If you even have an inkling or thought of moving or refinancing again, go with 2.625%.
Thank You. Its a typo. I locked at 2.62% waiting for LE. One item missed was, LC didn't include $1800 in title charges. That would make LD and LC quote about even.
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Joined Jul 2006
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> bubble2 116 Posts
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Shiggidy
08-27-2020 at 01:23 PM.
08-27-2020 at 01:23 PM.
Quote from nagraw4 :
Who here has either closed or is in the process of closing (have received initial closing disclosures) with LC? If they are really taking 60 days to close, those who applied beginning of July should be getting their CDs now.
I received and signed my prelim CD with LC last night. Have to make a couple adjustments before final CD. My closing is on 8/31 (Monday). I locked with them on 8/3. 30 year fixed. I have had to be on the ball with them though and got multiple clarifications early on that they would be able to close by the end of the month. Was also stressed about the appraisal contingency because they took so long to get it scheduled but it worked out and didn't miss any deadlines. They definitely got more communicative near the end of the process vs the beginning and middle.
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Joined Nov 2004
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MeAPhool
08-27-2020 at 01:54 PM.
08-27-2020 at 01:54 PM.
Quote from Shiggidy :
I received and signed my prelim CD with LC last night. Have to make a couple adjustments before final CD. My closing is on 8/31 (Monday). I locked with them on 8/3. 30 year fixed. I have had to be on the ball with them though and got multiple clarifications early on that they would be able to close by the end of the month. Was also stressed about the appraisal contingency because they took so long to get it scheduled but it worked out and didn't miss any deadlines. They definitely got more communicative near the end of the process vs the beginning and middle.
Shiggidy - Were you doing a purchase vs a refinance? I ask because I think they are faster on purchases due to strict deadlines vs refinances. Otherwise that sounds quick for them!
I also got confirmation of my lock on 8/3 but have not received any CD or any other communication that I didn't initiate first (like asking a question).
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Joined Jul 2006
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Shiggidy
08-27-2020 at 02:01 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:01 PM.
Quote from MeAPhool :
Shiggidy - Were you doing a purchase vs a refinance? I ask because I think they are faster on purchases due to strict deadlines vs refinances. Otherwise that sounds quick for them!
I also got confirmation of my lock on 8/3 but have not received any CD or any other communication that I didn't initiate first (like asking a question).
I am purchasing. Huh, I had no idea there were strict deadlines on loans! Good to know. Do you have a link or anything I can look up to find more info on what the deadlines are?
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Joined Nov 2004
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MeAPhool
08-27-2020 at 02:04 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:04 PM.
Quote from user017 :
Thank You. Its a typo. I locked at 2.62% waiting for LE. One item missed was, LC didn't include $1800 in title charges. That would make LD and LC quote about even.
Ok I went back and saw your loan was for $700K.

@ 2.62 P+I = $2,809.72
@ 2.5 P+I = $2,765.85

Difference is $43.87

Ignoring Equity, break-even is 45.5 months or 3 years 11 months.
Including Equity, break-even is 2 year 6 months.

Since your loan amount is much higher, now it might make sense to take 2.5% as 2 years and 6 months is a reasonable break-even if you count equity.
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Joined Nov 2004
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MeAPhool
08-27-2020 at 02:09 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:09 PM.
Quote from Shiggidy :
I am purchasing. Huh, I had no idea there were strict deadlines on loans! Good to know. Do you have a link or anything I can look up to find more info on what the deadlines are?
Apologies, my wording was not clear. I was not speaking about laws but more so about the sale contract between buyer/seller for the home.

You must have a tentative date to purchase the home (pending financing) written into the contract with the seller. LC has to meet that date or there is always potential for seller's to renege and choose another buyer.

For a refinance, it's usually open-ended unless you specify that you need it completed by a certain date.

I saw another post in this 100+ page thread where LC completed a purchase in 3 weeks.
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Joined Jul 2006
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Shiggidy
08-27-2020 at 02:10 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:10 PM.
Quote from MeAPhool :
Apologies, my wording was not clear. I was not speaking about laws but more so about the sale contract between buyer/seller for the home.

You must have a tentative date to purchase the home (pending financing) written into the contract with the seller. LC has to meet that date or there is always potential for seller's to renege and choose another buyer.

For a refinance, it's usually open-ended unless you specify that you need it completed by a certain date.

I saw another post in this 100+ page thread where LC completed a purchase in 3 weeks.
Ah that makes more sense, thanks!
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Joined Apr 2004
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> bubble2 1,449 Posts
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BMWZ8Bond
08-27-2020 at 02:13 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:13 PM.
Quote from zukuri :
Yes I was trying to pricematch with loandepot for they asked for LE from the competitors.
100% commitment might mean don't look elsewhere other than him.
for he always sends this message in his email.
"If you recently locked with another lender or are planning on locking into a loan, our pricing IS LOWER 99 percent of the time. 5 minutes with me will most likely save you $$$$'s. I know everyone says that but call me today or complete the application below to see your options."
Just a datapoint - Loandepot does not require a LE to match (at least, it isn't policy). I was able to pricematch with a quote from a lender that included company, rate, term, escrow [Y/N], and credits.

Quote from Shiggidy :
I am purchasing. Huh, I had no idea there were strict deadlines on loans! Good to know. Do you have a link or anything I can look up to find more info on what the deadlines are?
The strict deadline isn't on the loan per se, the deadline is agreed upon in your purchase agreement with the seller (usually default to 30 days, but a point of negotiation when you're writing your offer). Now there are a number of contingencies you put in there to protect yourself, one of which is a financing contingency. But once you release that (usually 21 days after after acceptance, so 9 days before close), if you don't close on time because your lender is taking along time, you could still be required to pay the seller a penalty. Lenders know this, and therefore prioritize purchase vs refi.

On a refi, if it takes 3 extra weeks, you're just out the interest difference between current and new rate - which you would've paid anyway if you didn't refi.
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user017
08-27-2020 at 02:36 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:36 PM.
Quote from MeAPhool :
It has been answered but I know people don't read the forum because it's 80+ pages and they don't want to bother.

LC typically does not charge origination fee or anything in "A" for refinances ( I'm not sure about purchase ).

If you get your Appraisal Waived, then typically you wouldn't have any charges in "B" either.

The charges you have would be Title in "C" and recording fee in "E".

If your lender credit covers C+E, then all you have to bring to closing is escrows (if you choose to escrow and prepaid interest).

In my opinion if lender credit covers A+B+C+E, then that is no cost. Escrows & prepaid interest (aka interest) would be owed no matter what so that shouldn't be part of cost.

I chose not to escrow but I know some people don't mind it.



****EDITTED TO ADD***

I'm sure no one will read it, but I will put Loan Cabin details in the WIKI --- hopefully reduces repeat questions

Quote from MeAPhool :
Ok I went back and saw your loan was for $700K.

@ 2.62 P+I = $2,809.72
@ 2.5 P+I = $2,765.85

Difference is $43.87

Ignoring Equity, break-even is 45.5 months or 3 years 11 months.
Including Equity, break-even is 2 year 6 months.

Since your loan amount is much higher, now it might make sense to take 2.5% as 2 years and 6 months is a reasonable break-even if you count equity.
Yes that is the loan amount. Thank you for the numbers.

For LC I am waiting to get LE. My LC LO quoted 0 closing cost but that doesn't include title cost of around $1800. That is weird that they don't include title cost in closing cost. LC would be even with LD quote when including title cost for me.
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Joined Jul 2006
Call me Mr. Deals
> bubble2 5,049 Posts
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shahhere
08-27-2020 at 02:52 PM.
08-27-2020 at 02:52 PM.
Guys,


One big tip I want to re-clarify to all is how you Appraise/Estimate your home value when you are requesting the quotes.


You should play around with the numbers to get the best rate when it comes to LTV; especially if you are closer on the border with LTV when getting rates. Your home value isn't a static value and is generally in flux with various factors (Pandemic...) and as such is YOUR best guess estimation of what the current perceived value is.


I have seen rates drop and credit increase or points drop when I state $501,000 vs $500,000. If you truly believe that your value is $540,000 you can put that down and if your LTV is closer to the thresholds (45% vs 48%, 60% vs 70% etc) it will affect the outcome. This isn't illegal and I am not condoning as such so if you have documented proof that your home is only worth some exact number then you should stick with that.....


Just one caveat that saying your home is now worth $100,000 more without showing improvements or an increase in local home values will more than likely trigger an appraisal so keep that in mind.


Also, your Appraisal/Estimated Home Value has not bearing on the Selling Price which is truly dependent on the market; competition and your own ability to sell at the best rate possible. Its also has no bearing on the Tax Assessment value either.


Shahhere
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Joined Sep 2011
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> bubble2 409 Posts
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zukuri
08-27-2020 at 04:23 PM.
08-27-2020 at 04:23 PM.
Quote from BMWZ8Bond :
Just a datapoint - Loandepot does not require a LE to match (at least, it isn't policy). I was able to pricematch with a quote from a lender that included company, rate, term, escrow [Y/N], and credits.



The strict deadline isn't on the loan per se, the deadline is agreed upon in your purchase agreement with the seller (usually default to 30 days, but a point of negotiation when you're writing your offer). Now there are a number of contingencies you put in there to protect yourself, one of which is a financing contingency. But once you release that (usually 21 days after after acceptance, so 9 days before close), if you don't close on time because your lender is taking along time, you could still be required to pay the seller a penalty. Lenders know this, and therefore prioritize purchase vs refi.

On a refi, if it takes 3 extra weeks, you're just out the interest difference between current and new rate - which you would've paid anyway if you didn't refi.
Yes, that's good news. I forwarded WM email and their LE without lender credit to loandepot and hope for them to pricematch WM.

Here's another one from the loan officer's response from Watermark:

"The loan is not locked, pricing changes everyday. I'm not going to disclose a lender credit if the loan is not locked. I do no lock loans when clients are shopping. I would recommend you move forward with any of those other lenders."
Reply
Last edited by zukuri August 27, 2020 at 05:40 PM.
Joined Jan 2013
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> bubble2 546 Posts
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hello3232
08-27-2020 at 06:15 PM.
08-27-2020 at 06:15 PM.
That is one aggressive WM officer. I had the opposite experience with mine, got a great LE upfront and he was unresponsive so I was unable to lock rate/credit before it went up. And of course Better refused to match the original
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Marinermoose241
08-27-2020 at 06:25 PM.
08-27-2020 at 06:25 PM.
Quote from hello3232 :
That is one aggressive WM officer. I had the opposite experience with mine, got a great LE upfront and he was unresponsive so I was unable to lock rate/credit before it went up. And of course Better refused to match the original
My WM officer has also asked for 100% commitment before providing a LE. As of now I've only seen live pricing quotes. How are you guys getting most of the closing costs covered by lender credits?

I've applied to LD, LF, and WM and all provided around the same Lender Credits however they only cover around half the closing costs. Lowest closing costs so far are $1500
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Last edited by Marinermoose241 August 27, 2020 at 06:30 PM.
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